April 9th, 2008

Savage Factory Gun Wins Hickory Shoot. Savage 6mmBR Ships This Week.

600-yard World-Record-holder Terry Brady gave us a call this morning and reported: “You may not believe it, but a factory Savage won it all this year at the Hickory Groundhog Shoot.” Terry said it was raining through much of the event, and many of the custom rifle shooters had tight groups but were not centered up on the target. This is a score event, with concentric scoring rings on cardboard groundhog silhouette targets at 100, 300 and 500 yards. The overall match winner shot a Savage factory.223 Rem varminter, according to Terry. “A couple of them Savage guys had their groups nicely centered up on the targets, and that’s what it took to win.”

Savage 6mmBR

In related news, the Savage factory 6mmBR rifles will start shipping this week. The 6mmBR chambering is now offered in three versions: F-Class, Varmint single-shot, and Varmint repeater (with box magazine). The 6BR F-Class model is a right bolt, right port single-shot weighing 13.3 lbs without optics. It features an 8-twist 30″ barrel and a heavy, laminated wood stock with a flat buttstock toe that runs parallel to the underside of 3″-wide forearm. The Long-Range Precision Varminter (LRPV) has a 12-twist, 26″ barrel, and a synthetic, H-S Precision stock with alloy bedding system. The LRPV is offered as BOTH a right bolt, left port single-shot, AND as a right bolt, right port repeater.

Permalink Competition, News No Comments »
April 9th, 2008

Reloading Info on ShootingUSA Television

On today’s episode of ShootingUSA, RCBS factory expert Allan Jernigan demonstrates safe, basic reloading techniques for pistol, rifle, and shotgun. You may be an expert rifle reloader, but specialized techniques can help you load more consistent pistol ammo, on both single-stage and progressive presses. And, of course, shotshell reloading is a different game altogether — you have more components to deal with, and up to three separate stages just for the crimp. In this show, Jernigan offers tips on optimizing accuracy and explains how to save money on components — so you can maintain your reloading output even as the costs of bullets, shot, primers and powder are on the rise. Jernigan demonstrates reloading methods using the RCBS RockChucker, RCBS 2000 Progressive, and RCBS Grand shotshell loader. Also in this episode, Wheelgun wizard Jerry Miculek offers speed-shooting Pro Tips for revolver fans.

RCBS Reloading ShootingUSA

ShootingUSA airs Wednesday Nights on the Outdoor Channel:

Eastern Time – 4:30 PM, 8:30 PM, 2:00 AM (Thursday)
Central Time – 3:30 PM, 7:30 PM, 1:00 AM (Thursday)
Mountain Time – 2:30 PM, 6:30 PM, Midnight
Pacific Time – 1:30 PM, 5:30 PM, 11:00 PM (And Arizona)

Permalink Reloading No Comments »