May 6th, 2008

Terry Gets His Gun — Savage 6BR

Savage Arms has provided one of its new 6mmBR F-Class Rifles for testing and evaluation by this website. Record-holder Terry Brady will be our triggerman for the test. Terry got his rifle this weekend and should put the first rounds thorugh the barrel this morning. Here are Terry’s initial observations:

▪ The gun is a Right Bolt, Right Port. We thought it might be Right Bolt, Left Port, but apparently that is only offered (for now) in the Long-range Precision Varminter model.

▪ The stock is very stable and balances well on the bags.

▪ It looks like the neck is a .272″ and the twist, according to Savage, is 1:8″. Freebore is about 0.100″, just right for the 103-108gr bullets.

▪ The trigger was set at 13 ounces.

▪ Terry borescoped the barrel yesterday. He observed: “There’s some roughness in there compared to a custom barrel, but I’ve seen a lot worse. Overall it’s not bad. This might be a good choice to shoot a coated bullet to cut down on fouling.”

▪ This particular gun came with test targets showing 100-yard groups in the high-twos to mid-threes using Lapua 105gr factory ammo. Savage provided test targets at our request–don’t expect that with guns sold at retail.

Permalink News No Comments »
May 6th, 2008

Shooting USA Features 2008 Shot Show This Week

This Wednesday night, May 7th, Shooting USA will reprise its 2008 SHOT Show Special. The hour-long broadcast on the Outdoor Channel will include footage shot on the floor of the SHOT Show in Las Vegas.

ShootingUSA Shot Show 2008

If you couldn’t attend SHOT Show yourself, this is “must-see” television. Over 2,000 gun, hunting, and outdoor product manufacturers showcased their products at the 2008 SHOT Show. Shooting USA’s camera team found many new exciting products to feature. In addition, Shooting USA covers the Firearms Media Range Day. Held the day before SHOT Show opened at the Las Vegas Convention Center, Range Day gave media members “hands-on” experiences with some of the latest pistols, rifles, and shotguns to hit the market.

Wednesday’s May 7th broadcast times for the Shooting USA Shot Show Special on the Outdoor Channel are:

Eastern Time: 4:30 PM, 8:30 PM
Central Time: 3:30 PM, 7:30 PM
Mountain Time: 2:30 PM, 6:30 PM, Midnight
Pacific Time: 1:30 PM, 5:30 PM, 11:00 PM

Permalink - Videos, News No Comments »