June 26th, 2013

Impossible Shots TV Features Late, Great Bob Munden

Bob Munden Impossible ShotsBob Munden, one of the greatest trick shooters ever, passed away in December of last year. If you never had a chance to see Bob work his magic with a six-gun (or other firearm), here’s your chance. Tonight’s edition of Shooting USA’s Impossible Shots, features some of Bob Munden’s “greatest hits” from over the years. Before his passing, Bob was a regular on the Impossible Shots TV show.

On tonight’s episode, Munden flicks coins with his Peacemaker, making them spin like a top. Bob was famous for this and other tricks — like splitting playing cards in mid-air, and shooting the fletching off an arrow. Munden was famous both as a trick shooter and as a speed-draw specialist, with fast-draw records listed in the Guinness Book of World Records.

Air times for the Bob Munden episode on Shooting USA’s Impossible Shots are listed below. The show airs Wednesday Nights on the Outdoor Channel, and is repeated late Friday/Saturday:

Impossible Shots Wednesday:
Eastern Time: 2:30 PM, 7:00 PM
Central Time: 1:30 PM, 6:00 PM
Mountain Time: 12:30 PM, 5:00 PM
Pacific Time: 11:30 AM, 4:00 PM
Impossible Shots Friday/Saturday:
Eastern Time: 1:00 AM SAT
Central Time: 12:00 AM Midnight
Mountain Time: 11:00 PM
Pacific Time: 10:00 PM

Bob Munden Impossible Shots

Permalink - Videos, News No Comments »
December 12th, 2012

Legendary Exhibition Shooter Bob Munden Passes at Age 70

Bob Munden passes awayFamed exhibition shooter Bob Munden passed away December 10th, from a heart attack. Bob was 70 years old. Munden’s friends at Hodgdon Powder stated: “Bob was a legend, a showman and a gentleman above all else.” Born February 8, 1942 in Kansas City, MO, Bob began his professional shooting career at age 11 in California. While still in high school, Bob placed second in the noted LeatherSlap competition, and that launched his fabled career as a fast-draw specialist and trick shooter.

Over his long career, Munden traveled around the globe giving shooting exhibitions. Munden was famous both as a speed-draw specialist and a trick shooter with all types of firearms. He was recognized as “The Fastest Man with a Gun Who Ever Lived” in the Guinness Book of World Records. As a star of Shooting USA’s “Impossible Shots” TV show, Munden provided amazing demonstrations of shooting skills for a national television audience — such as splitting a playing card tossed in the air. Many of Munden’s famous trick shots were “first-ever” challenges, tricks that no other marksman had ever done before.

Bob Munden passes away

Over the years Bob, often with his wife Becky (who is also a skilled shooter), appeared on many television shows, most famously American Shooter, Ripley’s Believe it or Not, Stan Lee’s Superhumans, Shooting USA, and Shooting USA’s Impossible Shots. Munden is featured in DVDs including Bob Munden: Outrageous Shooting and Bob Munden: The Collector’s Edition.

Bob Munden passes away

Registered as members #118 and #119 respectively, Bob and Becky entertained at the Single Action Shooting Society (SASS) End of Trail World Championships of Cowboy Action Shooting 30 times with what Becky proudly said was the most complex presentation ever offered at an exhibition shooting show. She added that Bob was Cowboy Action Shooting’s first gunsmith. After her beloved Bob passed away this week, Becky said: “We had an incredible, memorable life together.”

Permalink News 5 Comments »
August 2nd, 2010

Shooting USA and Impossible Shots Worth Watching This Week

We recommend you tune in to the Outdoor Channel this Wednesday, August 4th, for Shooting USA and its sister show, Impossible Shots. This week Shooting USA features an in-depth product special from SHOT Show 2010 in Las Vegas. On Impossible Shots (note new air times), Jerry Miculek demonstrates 3-Gun shooting (AR carbine, shotgun, pistol), while famed trick-shooter Bob Munden attempts a 600-yard offhand shot with a .44 magnum revolver. Both the Impossible Shots and Shooting USA episodes are well-worth watching. Anytime you get to see Miculek work his magic on the 3-gun range, it’s time well spent. The video below highlights this week’s Shooting USA and Impossible Shots broadcasts.

YouTube Preview Image

New Broadcast Times for Shooting USA and Impossible Shots
There are new broadcast times for the two shows. Shooting USA airs Wednesdays at 4:00 pm, 8:30 pm and 12:00 midnight EST. Impossible Shots is broadcast Wednesdays at 2:00 pm, 10:30 pm EST, and on Saturdays at 3:00 pm EST. For other time zones, check your local listings.

Permalink - Videos, Shooting Skills No Comments »