August 1st, 2009

Soldier Wins National Smallbore Prone Championship

The Smallbore Prone Championship matches have concluded at Camp Perry, and we have a new National Champion, Spc. Joseph Hine from the U.S. Army.

As the Smallbore prone champ and winner of the Critchfield Trophy, Specialist Joseph Hein was awarded the Critchfield trophy plaque, a gold tone national champion, a medallion, a Chiappa blackpowder muzzleloading rifle, and a $500 Visa gift card. Here are the top finishers and their final scores.

1. SPC Joseph Hein – 4790×354 | National Champion
2. Richard Fowke – 4790×355 | Civilian Champion
3. Reya Kempley – 4789×374 | Woman Champion

Runner-up Richard Fowke was crowned the Civilian Champion. Fowke actually outscored Hein by one “X”. But as a British citizen, Fowke wasn’t eligible for the U.S. National Championship. Third-Place finisher Reya Kempley also received an award as Top Female Shooter. Reya also shoots a 6mmBR centerfire rifle in international 300m competition.

This story was provided by the NRA Blog. You’ll find many more photos of the Camp Perry Smallbore competition and awards ceremonies on the NRA Media Relations Public Gallery. On that page, click on any thumbnail to view a slideshow of related photos.

Similar Posts:

Tags: , , ,