March 17th, 2012

Michigan State Wins Intercollegiate Rifle Club Championship

Based on Report By Kyle Jillson for the NRA Blog
Over the past few days, the NRA Intercollegiate Rifle Club Championship has been held at Fort Benning, Georgia, home of the United States Army Marksmanship Unit (USAMU). The rifle competition began with Air Rifle matches. The USAMU’s indoor range was large enough to accommodate every rifle shooter into one relay. Lead by Amos Peck (590), Tyler Luce (577), and Clayton Peck (566), Michigan State took the Air Rifle Team Title with a 2285 Aggregate, followed by Penn State (2216) and Michigan (2201). Amos Peck (photo below) was the top individual Air Rifle Shooter.

Intercollegiate Rifle Championships

NRA intercollegiate club rifle championshipSpartans Win Smallbore Title
The next phase was the Smallbore Rifle Championship. Although heading into the finals of team competition with a 69-point lead, Michigan State needed strong performances from Tyler Luce and the Peck brothers if the Spartans were going to win the 2012 NRA Smallbore Rifle Championship. The Spartan shooters delivered. Amos Peck finished first in smallbore, edging Michigan’s Anne Sullivan by one (1) point. Amos Peck’s win, combined with strong showings by teammates Tyler Luce and Clayton Peck, carried Michigan State to victory in the smallbore Team event.

Michigan State Wins Both Team and Individual Combined (Air Rifle/Smallbore) Titles
That smallbore victory, on top of the Spartans’ impresssive win in the Air Rifle event, secured Michigan State the overall title. Michigan State took the combined Intercollegiate Rifle Championship with a final score of 4457 — 96 points better than second place Penn State (4361). Michigan again finished third with a 4306. Michigan State’s Amos Peck took the Aggregate individual title, with a score of 1149, following by Spartan Teammate Tyler Luce with an 1130 total score.

Intercollegiate Rifle Championships

2012 Rifle Team Championship
1. Michigan State – 4457
2. Penn State – 4361
3. Michigan – 4306
4. Clemson – 4155
5. Wisconsin-Oshkosh – 4135
6. Purdue – 4026
7. North Dakota State – 3857
8. Indiana U of Penn – 3416
2012 Individual Aggregate Championship
1. Amos Peck – 1149 Michigan State
2. Tyler Luce – 1130 Michigan State
3. Abi Winegarden – 1129 UNC-CH
4. Anne Sullivan – 1128 Michigan
5. Clayton Peck – 1118 Michigan State
6. Tonya Kocher – 1110 PSU
7. Kyle Freeley – 1095 PSU
8. Brandon Godbout – 1094 NDSU
9. Rebecca Picone – 1093 PSU
10. Kevin Tuten – 1085 Clemson

Similar Posts:

Tags: , , , , , ,