July 6th, 2010

2010 National Rifle & Pistol Championships Commence July 12th

The 2010 National Rifle and Pistol Championships kick off July 12 at Camp Perry in Port Clinton, Ohio. Conducted by the National Rifle Association (NRA) and the Civilian Marksmanship Program (CMP) with assistance from the Ohio National Guard, these matches have long been considered the “World Series of the Shooting Sports.” A tradition at Camp Perry since 1907, the event is divided into five separate phases: Pistol, Smallbore 3-Position, Smallbore Prone, High Power, and Long Range. The popular CMP clinics and matches will be held from July 30 through August 7. MidwayUSA is the Title Sponsor for the 2010 National Championships. (FYI: MidwayUSA is also currently offering special discounts to AccurateShooter.com readers: $10 off $50 – Coupon Code 2437210.)

The National Matches begin each year in early July with the National Pistol Championships and conclude in August with the Long Range High Power Championship. Competitors represent a vast array of experience including novice shooters, Olympic medalists, law enforcement officers, military personnel, and international competitors.

2010 Nat’l Matches Schedule:

July 12: First Shot Ceremony
July 13-17: Pistol Championships
July 21-24: Smallbore Rifle Position
July 25-29: Smallbore Rifle Prone
July 30-Aug 1: CMP SAFS & Clinics
August 2-7: CMP Rifle Matches
August 8: Springfield M1A Match
August 10-13: High Power Rifle
August 14-17: Long Range Rifle

The NRA Blog will provide timely reports and the latest match results during the Championships. For more on the Camp Perry National Championships, or other competitive shooting events or programs, visit www.nrahq.org/compete or call (703) 267-1450. Go to the CMP Website for information on CMP Clinics and Trophy Matches.

USMC CMP Junior Clinic Camp Perry

Similar Posts:

Tags: , , , , , , ,