March 1st, 2010

2010 World Championship Airgun Team Selected

Eleven members of the 2010 World Championship team were selected following the Spring Airgun Championships, which served as Part II of the World Championship Team selection for the men’s and women’s open air rifle and pistol events. Six air rifle and five air pistol shooters qualified to represent the U.S.A. this August at the 50th ISSF World Championships in Munich, Germany.

The 2010 World Championship team for airgun was determined by the match scores from the first two days of the 2009 Winter Airgun Championships (held last December), added to the match scores from both days of the Spring Airgun Championships and the best two finals from both matches. For complete results from the 2010 Spring Airgun Championships, please visit

Olympic gold and silver medalist Matt Emmons qualified for the World Championship team in Men’s 10m Air Rifle with an overall score of 2600.7 points. U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit (USAMU) member Matt Rawlings grabbed the second spot in Men’s Air Rifle with a total score of 2584.2 and Jonathan Hall earned the third spot with 2577.1 total points.

Leading the Men’s Air Pistol team will be 2008 Olympian Brian Beaman, who finished with an overall score of 2507.4 points. Two-time Olympian and 2008 bronze medalist Jason Turner will finished right behind Beaman with 2506.2 points. Three-time Olympian and USAMU member Daryl Szarenski grabbed the third spot after firing a total score of 2502.1 points.

Two-time Olympian Emily Caruso lead the way in Women’s Air Rifle with 1800.4 total points. Jamie Beyerle, a 2008 Olympian, took the second spot with an overall score of 1798.8 points and TCU’s Sarah Scherer qualified in third place with 1796.4 points. Teresa Meyer finished first in Women’s Air Pistol after firing 1691.8 total points, while Brenda Shinn, a 2008 Olympian, took the second spot with 1679.0 points.

CLICK HERE for Info on 50th ISSF World Shooting Championship (PDF)

ISSF World Championships

Similar Posts:

Tags: , , ,